The directors of the Melrose Learning Trust are accountable to external government agencies including the Charity Commission and the Department for Education (DfE) for the quality of the education provided by the Company in addition to having financial accountability. The directors are required to have systems in place through which they can assure themselves of quality, safety and good practice. The directors are also accountable to Diocesan Board of Education Board to ensure that the Church of England academies within the Company and their business are conducted in accordance with the values and ethos of the Church of England and the Anglican faith. Further information about Trust governance can be found here: Welcome – Melrose Learning Trust

The Governing Body has been established by the Board of Directors to assist with the good governance of the Academies within the Trust.  The directors may appoint people with appropriate skills and knowledge to serve on the Governing Body.

Please contact the school office (tel. no. 01325 374412 or email if you wish to make contact with the chair, Joe Temple.

Governing Body MemberDesignationTerm of office start dateTerm of office end date
Joe Temple (chair)Parent elected2nd November 20211st November 2025
Wendy Aitken (Executive Principal)ex officio1 October 2016 Ex-officio by virtue of office as principal
Reverend Jennifer Croft Director appointed member3 November 2020Ex-officio foundation governor (appointed by foundation by virtue of the office they hold)
Sue Taylor (Vice Chair)Director appointed member25 November 202124 November 2025
Kath Alley (Director appointed member)Director appointed member8 March 20227 March 2026
Helen Jervis (Director appointed member)Director appointed member8 March 20227 March 2026
William SnaithDirector appointed member21 May 201920 May 2023
Harsha TripathiParent elected7 February 20236 February 2027
VacancyDirector appointed member
VacancyStaff member

Historic (left within last 12 months)

Start dateDate and reason for leaving
Angela Iannotti8 November 20187 November 2022 (end of term of office)
Jodie Oates8 November 201819 July 2022 (resigned)
Claire Hodgson4 November 202028 April 2022 (resigned)

Attendance Register 2022 – 2023

8th November 20227th February 202317th May 2023
Joe TemplePresentPresent
Sue TaylorPresentPresent
Wendy AitkenPresentPresent
Reverend Jennifer CroftApologies acceptedApologies accepted
Katherine AlleyPresentPresent
Helen JervisApologies acceptedPresent
William SnaithApologies acceptedPresent
Harsha TripathiApologies accepted

Attendance Register 2021 – 2022

LAC member02.11.202110.02.202219.07.2022
Joe TemplePresentPresentPresent
Wendy Aitken PresentPresentPresent
Reverend Jennifer Croft PresentApologies acceptedPresent
Sue Taylor (Vice Chair)PresentPresentPresent
Kath AlleyPresent
Helen Jervis Present
William SnaithPresentApologies acceptedPresent
Claire HodgsonPresentApologies acceptedPresent
Jodie OatesApologies acceptedAbsentResigned
Angela IannottiPresentApologies acceptedApologies accepted

Declarations of pecuniary interests (2022 – 2023)



School Meals


‘Ours are the eyes through which His compassion looks out on the world. Ours are the feet with which he walks to do good. Ours are the hands with which he blesses the world.’

— St Teresa of Avila